Satellite Photo of Hurricane

Board of Directors

The GCPD is governed by an eleven-member Board of Directors. The Commissioners Courts of Chambers County, Galveston County, Harris County, Jefferson County, and Orange County each appoint one director. The Governor, with the advice and consent of the Senate, appoints six directors as follows:

  • Two directors to represent Harris County, in addition to the member appointed by the Harris County Commissioners Court,
  • One director to represent a municipality in the District,
  • One director to represent ports,
  • One director to represent industry, and
  • One director to represent environmental concerns.

Directors serve staggered four-year terms. When a director’s term expires, the appointing entity appoints a successor. In addition, the Board elects a Board President from among the directors to serve in that position for two years.

Dark ModeLight Mode